Home > firearms > Memorial Day Weekend Trip to the Range

Memorial Day Weekend Trip to the Range

Went to my local indoor gun range today (Sandy Springs Gun Range) and ran some ammo through my limited collection.

First up was my Glenfield 25, manufactured by Marlin back in the 1970’s. A nice little bolt-action .22LR rifle. This is what I learned one way back when.

Glenfield 25

Glenfield 25

The good news: she still shoots pretty well, as seen in the picture (Shot at 7 yards):

Bullseye closeup

Bullseye closeup -- the Glenfield's shots are the six tiny ones in the red center and first back ring

The bad news — she still has a major failure-to-extract issue, so I won’t be able to participate in the e-postal match over on Random Acts of Patriotism (more info here and here). I had to use a small screwdriver to pull the spent casing from the chamber each time. I checked the bolt and extractor last weekend, and the extractor is pretty grippy, so either something is preventing the extractor from engaging, or I have a tight chamber.

Next up was my Springfield šŸ˜„ .45 ACP pistol. This was her first firing, and there are some shooter adjustments to be made. Here is the gun:

Springfield XD .45 ACP

My Springfield šŸ˜„ .45

And here is the target (shot at 7 yards):

Target, 7 yards, .45 ACP

Target after lots of .45 ACP rounds

Low and left, so I need to work on my trigger-pull and grip.

Next up was my Ruger Mini-14, which I have also not shot before. Here is a picture of her:

Mini-14

My Mini-14

I was pleased with how well she shot, especially because I forgot to to use the hasty-sling to stabilize:

Overall Rifle Target, at 10 yards

Overall Rifle Target, at 10 yards

The first group of five was quite nice:

Close-up of first five shots

Close-up of first five shots (the ones in the square; the ones to the upper left are from when I shot at that cross-hair

All in all, I enjoyed myself, and remembered how much more I have to learn.

Categories: firearms
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

